In the beginning….

ImageHi, my name is Matt, and I’m starting this blog for a couple of reasons.  First, I like to travel and do the outdoors thing, and evidently some people think that’s kinda interesting, so this is a medium I can use to share some of my trips.  Mostly I started this because I’m planning some pretty big events in the near future.  For example, today I quit drinking (I know, you’ve heard it from everyone, but I really am).  It’s been an ongoing battle of mine for quite some time, but this time I’m going to win.  2012 was definitely a defining year for me, but if all works according to plan, 2013 will be huge.  I’ll get into more of what’s all happening in the near future, so don’t touch that dial folks!

Now, allow myself to introduce….myself.  I’m short, dark, and handsome, and 2 outta 3 is as good as you’re going to get in East-Central Kansas, honey.  I live in Emporia, KS, and I work as a security guard at a nuclear power plant.  It’s not near as exciting as it sounds.

 Image

This picture is a whole lot more accurate than most people would think.  Anyways.  I like bikes.  A lot.  Mostly mountain bikes.  I don’t do the downhill, go super fast and almost kill yourself (because I would) stuff, though.  I prefer the ultra distance events.  I completed the Dirty Kanza 200, a 200-mile gravel race right here in my hometown.  I also attempted the Stagecoach 400, a 400 mile bikepacking race in Southern California, but I got sideswiped by a car and ran over by a motorcycle 20 miles in.Image

My friends call me “lucky” in the same token you’d call a bigger guy “slim.”  I also enjoy backpacking, hiking, camping, canoeing, kayaking, long walks on the beach, etc etc.  Basically anything outside, and I’m good.  I don’t have Cable, because other than AMC and The History Channel, everything on TV really sucks (plus it’s not outside).  I don’t go to Wal-Mart either, because everything at Wal-Mart sucks too.

In addition to defending the frontiers of freedom and keeping the world safe from special nuclear materials, and riding mountain bikes longer distances than most people are comfortable driving, I also do the National Guard thing one weekend a month, two weeks in the summer, and 18 months every five years (yeah, the recruiter forgot to mention THAT little gem of a detail). My last deployment was to Afghanistan (the name of this, Dingo 41, was my call sign there), and after that I went inactive for a year so I could travel and focus on doing the things I like to do.  This does NOT include listening to 4+ hour long Power-Points on the finer details of composite risk management.

Image

 

This blog will be a mix of all these things.  Travel, adventure, bike stuff, the great outdoors, why Wal-Mart sucks, why work sucks, why the Army sucks, etc, etc.  I’d like to say this won’t be a political blog, but that’ll probably creep its way in at some point.  I’m a registered Libertarian, so I think that both parties suck equally.

I hope you enjoy this, and we’ll see you down the road.

Matt

About dingo41

I'm 34, from East-Central Kansas, and you could say I'm pretty heavy into cycling. This blog is about all manner of things. I find it's more interesting that way! I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

