Here and there

Ok, before I start this, I have some stats for you (food for thought on stats: if people knew as much about the Federal budget as they do about the total rushing yards of the ’72 Bears, we wouldn’t be facing a fiscal cliff).  I have ADD.  Bad.  Anyways, according to the stats, my mom has read this blog 205 times.  Considering it’s a week old, thats just over 29 times a day.  Thanks Mom!  Glad to see you’re enjoying retirement.  On a serious note, I want to thank everyone for reading, and for the messages and comments about it.

Image

 

Well it’s been a week since I’ve had a drink.  Go me.  Anyone who says alcohol isn’t a solution obviously failed chemistry.  Ha.  Ha Ha.  Man am I a nerd.  The biggest problem I’ve had so far was trying to find something to do last night.  It’s kind of a shock when all of a sudden you have the 30 minutes (cough!) that you would normally spend in a bar available as free time.  So last night, in my newly-acquired 30 minutes (cough again), I did four loads of laundry, vacuumed the house, did a load of dishes, and organized my bikepacking and camping gear, and still got to bed earlier than I did last Saturday.  Not bad for 30 minutes, ehh?  I’m hoping to get at least 70 miles on the bike today, but we’ll see.  It’s cloudy, overcast, fairly chilly, and everything is brown; just kind of a blah day, but I do need the exercise.  I’m starting to feel like this guy:

Image

 

Not good.  I’m gonna have more chins than the Emporia State yearbook (the local college has a LOT of foreign exchange students… like 20% of the student population).  I’d really like to get in an overnight ride, but that’s probably not going to happen in the next couple of weeks.  I DO, however, have a week off the second week of January, and I’m trying to decide where to go.  First world problem, but thats what blogs are for.  I’d like to get some more experience doing snow riding, but it’s going to be a little too cold and dark for Alaska.  Maybe some snowmobile trails in Wisconsin – Go Packers ay!  For something a little warmer and a lot closer, I’ve thought about doing the Ouachita Trail in Oklahoma and Arkansas, but who knows.  I really need to get in some overnights plus big miles for this summer.  One more week, and you’ll know all about it, promise!  It’s gonna be as awesome as the first time you heard the opera to hard rock transition in Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen.

Yeah, THAT awesome.

See you down the road,

Matt

About dingo41

I'm 34, from East-Central Kansas, and you could say I'm pretty heavy into cycling. This blog is about all manner of things. I find it's more interesting that way! I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

