It’s Ready.

The route is ready.  562.62 miles of Kansas gravel, over 26,000 feet of climbing, three historic American West wagon trails, five lakes, a presidential museum, a racetrack, heck there’s even a castle.  This thing is 40 miles longer than the Trans-Iowa and Dirty Kanza routes combined.  I’m calling it the CSF&O 550 – The Kansas Cannonball.  CSF&O is a take on how railroads used to be named, and stands for Chisholm, Santa Fe, and Oregon, because you’ll either be traveling on, or crossing, all three of these historic trails.  The Kansas Cannonball?  I dunno, I just thought it sounded cool.  My route – my name, haha.  Don’t be surprised if you do hear some cannons though, you’ll be within a couple of miles of Ft. Riley; proud home of the Big Red One, and also the 1918 Spanish Influenza.  Ok, so without further ado, here is the MapMyRide Link:

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/167175718

***EDIT*** Here’s the link to the dropbox folder with the GPX and town list:  https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mjil001bs5rgthy/LZsb6xUd0n

If that doesn’t work, let me know. Since I’m unable to upload and share the GPX file directly, click the link, and then on the right side of the page click “Export This Route” then click the box “Download GPX File.”  This will save the GPX file to your computer for uploading on a GPS, smartphone, mapping software like Basecamp or Topofusion, or even Google Earth.  I also put together a list of towns and services along and near the route.  If you’re interested in those, shoot me a message, and I’ll be more than happy to email those to you. Ok, to get you all even more pumped about this, I’m going to end this with some pictures, either taken by myself or from Google Earth, from directly on the route.  Hope you enjoy! Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Hope you enjoy the pictures, and special thanks to Eric the Adventure Monkey for cross-posting this to his facebook and getting an insane amount of traffic and excitement generated! Thanks man, and I look forward to riding this with ya! See you down the most freakin’ bad-ass gravel-grinder ever, Matt

About dingo41

I'm 34, from East-Central Kansas, and you could say I'm pretty heavy into cycling. This blog is about all manner of things. I find it's more interesting that way! I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Ready.

  1. Steve Fuller says:

    I am definitely interested in receiving the list of towns. Might be worth putting that and the GPX file into a shared dropbox folder so you don’t get swamped with requests to mail things out. 🙂

  2. TTM! says:

    Awesome. Thanks. I had trouble pulling the GPX file down. MMR had timeout issues. KML downloads fine, converted in topofusion pro to gpx.

  3. dingo41 says:

    Thanks Steve, I’ll get that up soon. I just got a dropbox account last week, but haven’t used it yet. Thanks for the idea!

  4. Keith Clark says:

    Very interested in doing this in the Spring… We had planned on doing 4 days in the Flint Hills starting on May 3rd – might just have to change our course…

  5. Pingback: May 7th – Go Time. | dingo41

  6. Pingback: The FireFly | dingo41

  7. Kate says:

    This looks amazing. Definitely on my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

