Two Months and Ten Hours

Well, I survived outage.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought, and, although I didn’t get as much workouts in as planned, my base fitness is still pretty good.  Since then, I’ve been on the bike every day I’ve had off except for one.  Mileage is increasing and the body weight is decreasing.  Funny how that happens, haha.  I did a physical for the Army about three weeks ago, and everything seems to check out.  My resting heart rate was 48 (the lowest it’s been since I was 18 btw), blood work showed no signs of any problem, and my thyroid levels were all perfectly normal.  They were really low last year at my work physical, so I was a little worried, but everything is good.  I still need to drop about 5-7 pounds, but that will come off easily in the next couple of weeks, especially with the help of Matt’s Secret Go-Go Juice:

Image

That’s kale, spinach, cucumbers, ginger root, and carrots.  Hell yeah.  I’m telling you that the stuff works miracles.  I can’t begin to explain how much better you feel after a couple of days with some juice mixed in.  Allergies are improved, sinuses clear out, energy levels go through the roof, and I can’t prove it, but I think it cures dandruff.  If you haven’t already, check out the documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead.  It’s on Netflix.

The last of the gear for my Divide run is trickling in.  All I’m waiting on is my Mountain Laurel Designs bivy and an ultralight backpack from ZPacks.  Other than that, everything seems to be coming together nicely.  I’m really looking forward to my trial run on the CSF&O that I mapped out in January.  Unfortunately, it looks like I’ll be going it alone, but given the short notice, timeframe, and start date; that was to be expected.  I’m using that to really help bolster my fitness not only for the Tour Divide, but also for the Dirty Kanza.  I honestly don’t expect to finish the DK this year, but it will be a great race to end on and start my taper (taper = not doing shit for two weeks).  If I start to feel something hurt more so than normal, or something on the bike doesn’t sound right, etc, I’m dropping.  It’s not worth it to sacrifice a Divide attempt in order to finish the DK.  

One last note about the Dirty Kanza and I’ll move on.  I sent the link for the CSF&O 550 to Guitar Ted and asked him to post it to Gravel Grinder News, which he did (and THANK YOU for that, sir!). When he posted it, he referred to the route as “the real dirty kanza.”  I’m sure he meant nothing by it, and probably meant “the realLY dirty kanza,” and I’m sure it was in jest either way.  Evidently this caused a little (and understandable) friction with the DK organizers.  This route and race have nothing to do with the DK.  The DK is a great event for Emporia, and I hope it remains for many years to come, and continues to grow.  This route isn’t intended in any way to compete with that.  If anything, I’d rather see it be a week-long touring route for folks looking to get out of the cities and ride some serious gravel.  The race portion is more of a personal challenge than a race.  I do want to say best of luck to everyone riding the DK, DK Light, 50mi, and 25 mi races.  I’m looking forward to seeing all the racers here on June 1st!

Ok, before this turns into a best-selling book guaranteed to sell tens of copies, I’m gonna get off of here.  Besides, I have a ride to do tomorrow.

Image

 

I’ll see you down the (muddy) road,

Matt

About dingo41

I'm 34, from East-Central Kansas, and you could say I'm pretty heavy into cycling. This blog is about all manner of things. I find it's more interesting that way! I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

